Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

21st General Meeting and New EC Members of BALID

A General Meeting and Election of the Executive Committee for 2016-2017 of Bangladesh Association of Librarians, Information Scientists and Documentalists (BALID) was held on 01 May 2016 at the Auditorium of Ahsania Mission, Dhanmondi, Dhaka. The AGM was presided over by Dr. Mirza Mohd. Rezaul Islam, the Chairman, BALID and BIIM.
In the AGM Mr. Sasank Kumar Singha , the Secretary General of BALID  presented the Annual Report of 2014-15 and Mr. Alom Hossain, Joint Secretary General presented the Financial and Audit Report of 2014-2015 and announced the Budget of 2016-2017 of BALID.  Some revisions/amendments of BALID constitution worked out by the Constitution   Review Committee headed by Mr. Md. Hossam Haider Chowdhury were brought about in the meeting. A lively discussion on different issues was held and the members eulogize the activities of the previous Executive Committee. A host of questions and queries from the members were put and the Chairman and the other office bearers meticulously gave the answers and explanations of those queries.
However the Annual report and the Financial and audit report and the constitution amendments were unanimously confirmed in the meeting.
Election and formation of new Executive Committee of BALID was held in the post lunch session conducted by the three members Election Commissioners namely Prof. Dr. Abdus Sattar, Mr. Zohurul Kaiyum and Mr. AKM Mofizur Rahman respectively as the Chief Election Commissioner and the Election Commissioners. The Election Commissioners invited the proposals of the names and panel from the general members for the posts of 17 Executive Council members. However after considerable discussion the 17 member new EC committee was formed with the support of the majority members.
Following are the newly elected members of Executive Committee 2016-2017 of BALID: 
01) Dr. Md. Mostafizur Rahman, Chairman
02) Ms. Hazera Rahman, Vice Chairman 
03) Ms. Nomita Khan Mukti, Vice Chairman  
04) Mr. Md. Humayun Kabir, Vice Chairman   
05) Mr. Sasanka Kumar Singha, Secretary General
06) Mr. Md. Alom Hossain, Joint Secretary General   
07) Mr. A.K.M. Nurul Alam (Apu), Finance Secretary  
08) Mr. Md. Ahasan Habib, Establishment Secretary  
09) Mr. Md. Shafiur Rahman,  Research & Development Secretary 
10) Mr. Kazi Farhad Noman, Publication & Public Relations Secretary
11) Dr. Mirza Mohd. Rezaul Islam, Member
12) Mr. Hossam Haider Chowdhury, Member
13) Ms. Shamsun Naher Khan Shapna, Member
14) Ms Razina Akhtar, Member   
15) Ms Rekha Yeasmeen, Member
16) Mr. Md. Fazlul Karim, Member
17) Mr. Md. Jahangir Alam, Member
The Meeting concluded with great applause and greetings from the members to the new EC of BALID.